You Oughta be a Commissioner

by Anonymous (not verified) on May 14, 2013

may 14 2013

 Liberty Hill Commission Training Program sponsors and speakers include, clockwise from top left: Honorary Sponsorship Committee Co-Chair, Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas; speaker Madeline Janis, co-founder and national policy director of LAANE; speaker Jonathan Parfey, Director of Climate Resolve and a Commission at Dept. of Water & Power; Sponsorship Committtee Chair Sheila Kuehl, Director Public Policy Institute at SMC and former State Senator.

By Shane Goldsmith, Executive Director

Q: Whose vote to approve a contract enabling L.A.'s Dept. of Water and Power "to completely transition out of coal power from the Intermountain Power Plant in Delta, Utah by 2025" was the final piece of the city's move to become coal-free?

A: The Board of Water and Power Commissioners.

Q: Who approved a plan to move one of the runways at LAX 250 feet to the north?

A: The Board of Airport Commissioners.

Q: Who produces a regular report on campaign contributions in Los Angeles?

A: The Ethics Commission.

Los Angeles has more than 50 boards and commissions with more than 300 appointed members who oversee key city agencies and advise the mayor on core policies and programs that impact the quality of life for local residents. Decisions made by these agencies have a major impact on policies and  projects throughout Los Angeles.

Liberty Hill is offering a Commissions Training Program to ensure that these
appointees are drawn from diverse communities and can help civic leaders make
good decisions for all communities. The Training Program is an intensive,
full-day, large-group session for community leaders from across sectors and
issue areas.

Individuals who participate in this program will gain insight into the opportunities and challenges of commission service in the City of Los Angeles,
will understand the process for appointment, and will have an overview of key
skills needed for successful service. Graduates will also have the opportunity
to participate in priority registration for subsequent Liberty Hill Foundation
events focused on boards and commissions advocacy.

Sessions will be facilitated by well-known city advocates who have served on
commissions, worked in City Hall, or staffed city agencies. Former
commissioners will talk with you about setting priorities and getting the right
information for decisionmaking as a new commissioner. To apply, please click here for an application. You must be a City of L.A. resident.

Applications must be submitted by May 17, 2013 to You will be notified no later than May 31 as to your application’s status for the June 22 training. If you are offered a seat in the training, you must reserve it by submitting the enrollment fee of $250 no later than June 12. A limited number of scholarships are available. If you have questions, please contact

Liberty Hill Commissions Training Program Sponsorship Committee members: Sheila Kuehl (Chair), Director, Public Policy Institute at Santa Monica College and former State Senator; Dean Hansell President, Board of Fire & Police Pension Commissioners; Lara Bergthold, Principal, Griffin Schein; Aileen Adams, Deputy Mayor of Strategic Partnerships Office of Mayor Antonio R. Villaraigosa; Stewart Kwoh, President, Asian Pacific American Legal Center; Kathay Feng, Executive Director, Common Cause; Tom Saenz, President and General Counsel, Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (MALDEF); Torie Osborn, Deputy Mayor of Neighborhood and Community Services Office of Mayor Antonio R. Villaraigosa; Larry Frank, Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of Mayor Antonio R. Villaraigosa; Pascual Romel, Deputy Mayor for the Environment, Office of Mayor Antonio R. Villaraigosa; Nolan Rollins, President & CEO Los Angeles Urban League; Helen Torres, Executive Director Hispanas Organized for Political Equality (HOPE); Regina Freer, Professor, Occidental College, Vice President, Planning Commission; Sharon Delugach, Community Engagement Coordinator, American Federation of Teachers; Roxana Tynan, Executive Director Los Angeles for a New Economy (LAANE). Honorary Co-Chairs: Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas, Assemblymember Jimmy Gomez, Assemblymember Holly Mitchell, Assemblymember Bob Blumenfield.