Environmental & Climate Justice

Announcing Our 2024 Environmental Leadership Initiative Fellows

January 30, 2024
By Andres Magaña

Liberty Hill is excited to announce the inaugural cohort of our new Environmental Leadership Initiative (ELI)—a groundbreaking fellowship program that empowers and offers grassroots community leaders from across California a transformative experience in environmental justice!

The Environmental Leadership Initiative seeks to advance the movement for environmental justice by investing in the development, empowerment, and growth of emerging and active leaders dedicated to building power within and across communities throughout California.

The twenty-two inaugural fellows were selected from a pool of nearly 120 applicants, following a three-part application process, which included input from the program’s community-based Advisory Council. These incredible fellows are dedicated organizers, activists, artists, and educators from BIPOC and immigrant communities, Native California and tribal communities, and geographically diverse regions across the state—who are leading critical work in their communities.

By bringing together this incredible and diverse group, the ELI Fellowship seeks to nourish a deeper level of solidarity, advocacy, and collaboration across the state and build a well-resourced and expansive network of environmental justice leaders in California.

Please join us in congratulating the 2024 ELI Fellows

  • Agustin Angel Bernabe (he/him)
  • Ana Rosa Rizo-Centino (she/her)
  • Andrea Luna (she/her)
  • Blue Leopo (they/them)
  • Carla Mays (she/her)
  • Catherine Baltazar (she/they)
  • Devin Murphy (he/him)
  • Fatima Malik (we/ours)
  • Hasibe Caballero-Gomez (she/her)
  • Itzel Flores Castillo Wang (she/her)
  • Jamani Ashé (any pronoun)
  • Laura Hernandez (they/them/elle)
  • Mark Sanchez Guerra Santos (they/them)
  • Miriam Eide (they/them)
  • Naomi Lopez (she/her)
  • Robin Gilliam (she/her)
  • Shana Coleman (she/her)
  • Sherif Musaji (he/him)
  • Sim-Marcel Bilal (he/him)
  • Spenser Jaimes (he/him)
  • Tina Calderon (she/her)
  • Zoe Cunliffe (she/her)

This program is hosted by Liberty Hill Foundation, through the generous support and investment from the William & Flora Hewlett Foundation and the David & Lucile Packard Foundation. We work in partnership with the community-based Advisory Council who have helped shape this initiative and informed the selection of Fellows.

To learn more about the ELI program, please visit our program page here. To stay connected and receive updates about the program, please subscribe to our mailing list!